If I could be six again…

When I came across the BlogAdda prompt for Write Over the Weekend which wanted us to relive our childhood when we were six years old, and include the line “I wish I could be six again, so I could…” in the post, I was immediately drawn to the theme. This poem has flowed out of my mind like a gentle stream, carrying with it my prized memories of childhood, which can never come back but can only be remembered….

Little Boy

I wish I could be six again,
So I could wake up as the sun rose,
Before Mumma and Daddy;
While they still dozed and,
I tip-toed..hush hush!
Like a good child, I bathed and brushed,
And when Mumma opened her eyes,
Boo! I surprised her.

I wish I could be six again,
So I could sit behind daddy on his scooter,
Wrapping my tiny arms,
Around his warm belly and,
Wear a carefree smile.
The morning breeze blowing past me,
As I flew towards school,
Ah! What a joyful ride.

I wish I could be six again,
So I could sit on my dear Grandpa’s lap,
Under the neem tree,
The autumn aroma wafting,
And his stories slowly blossoming.
When Grandma would sing,
The lovely lullaby…
Alas! Now, they’ve gone far.

I wish I could be six again,
So I could relive the magical moments,
Sitting on the bed,
Clutching a plastic doll,
I would wish for a little sister.
And God blessed us,
When one November night…
Lo! Little Jolly was born.

I wish I could be six again,
So I could run on the open playground,
Race yet not compete,
Make friends and not foes,
Be a wild free spirit, uncaged.
But, time flowed past,
A golden era now extinct.
Ouch! Why have I been dreaming?

This post is a part of Write Over the Weekend, an initiative for Indian Bloggers by BlogAdda.

Wowbadge

3 thoughts on “If I could be six again…

Leave a comment