Harmony with nature: House to Home makeover!

“Just living is not enough… one must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower.”

The quote by famous Danish author Hans Christian Andersen, in simple words, tells us the importance of simple and clean living which should be in perfect harmony with nature. The 21st century human being’s life has turned mundane and programmed; there is a dearth of mental peace and physical comfort in his or her life. It is because we have distanced ourselves from nature and this disconnection has seeped into our homes too. The above quote highlights three elements – sunshine, freedom and flower, which, I believe, can easily be incorporated into our homes. ‘Sunshine’ is the brightness and positivity, ‘freedom’ comes from open and well-ventilated spaces and ‘flowers’ or ‘leaves’ bring in a much-needed refreshing vibe to the ambience.

If I have to give my home a ‘contemporary’ look, I would definitely draw inspiration from nature itself. To keep minimal colours on the walls, I would paint them in ‘light beige‘ so that it combines well with the three items I have chosen from “http://www.makemyhome.com” to give my home a beautiful makeover:

1. Swayam Boutique Collection 3 pieces Bedroom Set – BTQ03 – Nautica

Swayam Boutique

This absolutely beautiful collection of bedsheets, duvet covers and pillow covers caught my eyes because they are in my favourite colours – blue and green, and aptly relate to the theme of ‘nature’ that I have chosen for my room. The subtle shades of blue give a soothing feel and should calm a tensed mind immediately. The rectangular patterns are simple and the slight detailing work on the borders of the duvet cover and pillow covers are pleasing to the eyes. I shall place the bed on the eastern part of the room to allow maximum morning sunlight that brightens the room and I am sure, together with the light-coloured walls, this bedroom set should bring vibrancy and positivity in the room.

2. Alkemi Decor Graphical Murals/ Posters Pattern 107

Alkemi Mural

Whenever we wake up on our beds in the morning, the first sight we see sets our mood for the day. The sights of chirping of birds in the early morning hours and lush-green vegetation, through the windows, instantly cheer us up and bring a smile on our faces. I would definitely like to add this visually-appealing element to my home. For this purpose, a medium size “Alkemi Decor Graphical Murals/ Posters Pattern 107″ is the perfect choice! I shall put it on the wall of the living room where all members of the family can see it. The colourful, cute and smiling birds and comforting shades of green vegetation shall be the instant rejuvenating dose they require in the morning. Moreover, the image of flying birds portray freedom and independence, and keeps the mind away from negativity. Being a person who loves painting, this poster should also inspire me to take my art closer to nature.

3. Alkemi Decor Door Skin Pattern 5

Alkemi Door Skin

The concept of door skins is new for me and using them to decorate my home makes me excited. I shall apply the “Alkemi Decor Door Skin Pattern 5″ on the doors of my home because it has elements close to nature – water and leaves. Besides that, the two paper boats floating on the water and the rainbow in the backdrop together have a calming effect on the mind.

Ah! I wish my dream home becomes a reality soon.

The photos have been taken from the website “http://www.makemyhome.com” and the links to each item have been given below:

http://www.makemyhome.com/bestofhomedecor/swayam-boutique-collection-3-pcs-bedroom-set-btq03-nautica.html

http://www.makemyhome.com/bestofhomedecor/alkemi-decor-graphical-murals-posters-pattern-107.html

http://www.makemyhome.com/bestofhomedecor/alkemi-decor-door-skin-pattern-5.html

This post is a part of Makemyhome activity at BlogAdda.com

Leave a Reply

