Lost freedom

It had been more than a decade since I visited a zoo. I was around 6 years old when I first visited the Guwahati zoo in Assam along with my family. 17 years later, I paid a visit to the same zoo again!

I agree that a zoo is meant for recreational and educational purposes, but species like leopard, buzzard and eagles (in pictures below) do not deserve to be caged. Especially the birds which like to soar the skies and hunt for prey. I found it strange that some of the eagles had grown so fat that they had to nest on the ground, lazily basking under the sun. Even the leopard (in picture) looked lethargic when viewed closely.

 

Leopard

Buzzard

Eagle

Camera: Nikon Coolpix S3300

My question and worry: Is this how we treat animals in the zoo? Where is their freedom? 

 

4 thoughts on “Lost freedom

  1. Good question…I too have the same doubt when I visit the zoo. Is there scarity of food or care (or) is it the rule in general. These questions only the management can answers

    Like

  2. Caged, sad….the sorry state of some zoos in India. However, i have visited the Mysore zoo where most of the animals are adopted and trust me the picture is pleasant. May be the model of operations needs to change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

