Why do people turn into werewolves only on a full moon? – A unique analysis!

Most of us have come across werewolves in our lives, haven’t we? I mean not actually , but in celluloid or books!

We have seen werewolves in the Harry Potter books( Moony or Remus Lupin!), in the movie Van Helsing (played by Hugh Jackman) and of course, in the hugely popular Twilight saga, and Teen Wolf, True Blood and The Vampire Diaries TV series.  While in some representations, they’re portrayed as ‘half human half wolf’, but in some, they’re shown as complete wolves (which I think is wrong!). Nevertheless, these supernatural creatures are subjects of awe and dread!

I have always fancied werewolves though they are just fictional beings. But, it was the turning of werewolves on a full moon night that drew my interests towards the creatures even more. I find it extremely stupid to admit that as a 12 year-old, when I first learned about their transformation in Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban, I got so excited that  every full moon night henceforth, I began to look towards the moon, hoping to turn into a werewolf! Childish me! 🙂

Alright, let me reveal something funny to you. Have you ever looked closely at a full moon, trying to find out the shape the dark patches make? I bet you haven’t; even if you had, you may  not have found out the shocking revelation which I did some time back. Take a look at the picture below, showing a werewolf looking at the moon.

Werewolf 1

Now, look at the same image again.

Werewolf 2

The contour of a wolf’s face can be drawn out from the dark patches on the moon’s visible surface. Is that why werewolves turn only on a full moon night? Is that why wolves look towards the full moon and let out their long howl? Think about it!

One thought on “Why do people turn into werewolves only on a full moon? – A unique analysis!

Leave a Reply

