Rendezvous with the lizard duo!

Who doesn’t like a warm sun bath on a late Spring afternoon? 

Spring is almost about to end in my state Assam. And as summer sets in, it is time for the reptiles to come out of their pits and enjoy the sunshine!

Yesterday, after lunch, I was sitting on the verandah of my house with a novel in my hand, when suddenly I spotted something slithery move in the garden. I couldn’t make out what it was, initially. So perfect was the camouflage! But, on a closer look, I spotted it and I rushed to fetch my camera and finally took its picture!

Oriental Garden Lizard

I looked up on the internet about what species it could be, and if I am not wrong, it is the Oriental Garden Lizard. Check the picture below, which I found in Google Image search and you will notice the similarities!

Oriental Garden Lizard 1

It was certainly a lucky day for me, because just an hour and a half later, I spotted another lizard in my garden. This creature was hidden from plain sight under a medium-sized rock. I had to get it out for a clear view. I picked up a small pebble and threw it at the rock. Bingo! Bang on target and the lizard slithered out. I mistook it for a snake until I noticed its tiny legs. I took its picture too.

Common Garden Lizard

After browsing the internet to find out which species it might be, I found this picture. The photo caption said it’s a Common Garden Lizard. I hope I have identified correctly.

Common Garden Lizard

If the reader of this post happens to be a Herpetologist or has some idea about lizard species, I would be very glad if you could help me identify these two lizard species correctly.

2 thoughts on “Rendezvous with the lizard duo!

Leave a Reply

