Is Parineeti Chopra the new Rani Mukherjee?

I got a faint smell when I watched Ladies Vs Ricky Bahl; this soon turned into something strong when I watched Ishaqzaade and finally, after watching Shuddh Desi Romance, I realized I wasn’t wrong and my nose is perfectly alright! Jokes apart, I think the queen has returned to the silver-screen again. Didn’t get me? Of course I am talking about Rani Mukherjee, the Bollywood actress who was a hit sensation a few years back but now, she seems to have faded into oblivion. Not anymore folks! Parineeti Chopra is here and she has fantastically managed to bring alive the vivacious actress of the by-gone era into celluloid with a bang! Why do I think so? Well, here are the reasons:

Parineeti Chopra1. The look: I hadn’t seen the Rani Mukherjee look in Parineeti in her first two movies but in Shuddh Desi Romance, I could only see Rani Mukherjee in almost all the frames. Look at the picture from one of the screenshots of the movie. Doesn’t she undeniably look like Rani Mukherjee’s Babli from the movie Bunty Aur Babli? There is a strange resemblance of Parineeti’s face to Rani – especially the mysterious eyes, the dynamic smile and the tiny piece of gem she wears on her nose!

2. The voice: When I was watching Shuddh Desi Romance, I was keenly listening to Parineeti. For a few moments I couldn’t make out the familiarity in her voice. Suddenly, she delivered one of the dialogues in quite a broken, husky tone. And then the thought struck my mind! Parineeti sounds exactly like Rani! The broken, husky voice has always been synonymous with Rani Mukherjee; there was a unique trademark style of dialogue delivery in her, which is now evident in Parineeti. I wish I could attach an audio file here, so that you could also make out the similarity, but I think you’ll do once you watch the movie!

3. The acting: When you talk about Rani Mukherjee, don’t forget to discuss about her acting. She is a huge reservoir of acting talents which I hadn’t seen in any of the recent actresses until Parineeti arrived in the scene. I read some reviews of Shuddh Desi Romance and almost all of them mentioned that the movie had one clear-cut winner i.e. Parineeti. I couldn’t agree more as she really kept my eyes glued to the screen. Even in her previous films, she earned quite a many accolades for her dynamic performance. She stands out in the growing crowd of new-breed actresses because she speaks volumes through her acting; she touches such nuances of the character she plays and exudes a fearless, effortless and mesmerizing charm that the viewer develops instant admiration for her. Just like Rani used to do in her prime days, when she wowed the audience in films like Kuch Kuch Hota Hai, Black and many more.

Of course, there is one shortcoming though. Rani Mukherjee is an awesome dancer and Parineeti Chopra hasn’t reached up to her level as of yet, according to me. But I am sure this young actress will soon master this trade also! Now, I eagerly wait for her Hasee Toh Phasee, which is still in the shooting phase. It looks quite promising and I feel Parineeti will nail it!

15 thoughts on “Is Parineeti Chopra the new Rani Mukherjee?

  1. Talking about acting, I think it will be too early to find any similarity between the two actresses. Rani Mukherjee has done variety of roles in movies like Bicchchoo, Bunty Aur Babli, Mardaani, Hum Tum, No one killed Jessica… where she has proved her worth as an actress. Parineeti needs to do different roles to establish herself as a versatile actress, after then, we can say if she acts like Rani Mukherjee. As of now, it will be too early to find the similarity in acting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you. Parineeti is quite new to the film industry and she is many film away from Rani’s stardom. But, you have to agree that in movies, Parineeti has the feisty spirit and dynamism similar to Rani Mukherjee.

      Like

Leave a Reply

