‘Lag Jaa Gale’ by Shreya Ghoshal – a musical treat to the ears!

Every time I hear the melodious Lata Mangeshkar number ‘Lag Jaa Gale’ from the yesteryear movie ‘Woh Kaun Thi’, I get goosebumps…literally! This song is so attached to my heart because I’ve heard it since I was a baby. (Yeah, my mother tells me that this song used to act as a lullaby for me during my toddler days) And I believed her, for this soft, sweet-sounding song has all the soothing elements.

When I found this video of Shreya Ghoshal rendering this song in a reality show, I watched it at once. And boy-oh-boy, this lady sings heavenly! I mean her rendition comes closest to the one sung by the legendary Lataji, for I have heard many other Indian singers attempting to sing this song in the similar way, but none could bring in the emotions and vibes that Shreya Ghoshal’s voice offered to me. Lataji was right to bless you, when you won the 75th Children’s Special episode of the Sa Re Ga Ma singing contest on Zee TV. Hats off Shreya…

Leave a Reply

